Entrants in the 2016 PBC Land Sailing Titles to be held on 23-24 January will need to get some serious practice in before the Australia Day long weekend event. Last year saw strong competition between the Blokart performance, production and 5.6m minis.

So who do you need to chase to be competitive in 2016?

The overall winners last year saw three Blokart performace yachts take the top three placings. Setting the mark for the 2016 event will be the 2015 overall winner Steve Elliot (45), with Andy Bates (A10) in second and Wil Cuperus (77) in third.

The next three places and best 5.6m minis overall were Vic Bermingham AUS230), Chook Henderson and Barry Pulford (AUS4). The Chook Henderson mini was unbeatable at the recent 2015 Lake Lefroy event giving him outright first place.

The first three placings for the 2015 Blokart production yachts were Ben Ashby, followed by Jason Phillips (AUS05) and Brendan Beeson (99). Ben also holds the Lake Lefroy Blokart speed record at 108kph.

The 2016 PBC Land Sailing Titles is expected to be fiercely contested . Last years winners will be watching their mirrors for any challengers bearing down on them. The PBC electronic timing system will provide accurate and timely results over the event, with scores updated regularly.

The 2016 PBC Land Sailing Titles’ notice of race and registration form is available from www.perthblokartclub.com.au.